Update (2/4/16)

Well…it’s 2016.  A little late for a post but there hasn’t been much going on the past few months in the music creation department.  To tell the truth, I have somewhat forgotten about my little blog here. So here is a quick rundown of what I have done since my last post.

I have done some practicing on my bass to get used to it and to also test out recording with it as well.  I picked up some software which can be found on the Gear page.  I have been playing with that software a bit and I recorded a few pieces which can be found on my SoundCloud page.  Just a couple little numbers.  Nothing is complete the way I want it but I try to put something out there.  With all the musician deaths that have happened in the past few months, I got inspired to make the Bowie piece.  I did an Ace of Spades bass and drums cover but deleted it because it sounded like crap.  I have parody lyrics for the Adele song but I will most likely never record them.

My previously recording project is at a stalemate for now.  Nothing new there.  I have worked with their drummer about some software related items but nothing as far as progress is concerned.

The newest development I have had is in the collaboration department.  I have been talking with an old coworker online about music/recording as I knew he played drums and had an electric kit at that.  I also knew he recorded with people so he was in the same ballpark as me.  We talked about using REAPER as he was using Adobe Audion 1.5 since the dawn of time.  I can’t say enough good things about this DAW as it can do everything and cheap.  Long story short, he and I along with his buddy on guitar are working digitally.  All on REAPER.  Working with cloud sync on OneDrive and using Hangouts to communicate as a group.  We are just in the beginning stages of working on some tunes.  Mostly covers to start but it is fun and will help us all in learning the craft of engineering music.

I’m sure there will be more to come as we start to get some tracks recorded and the mixing process begins.

-The Saga

Leave a Reply

